Foire aux questions

Foire aux questions

GÉNÉRAL

Certains produits Leatherman sont fabriqués conformément aux spécifications de TSA relatives aux bagages de cabine. Ces produits sont listés ci-dessous. L'un de nos modèles, le Style PS, est conforme à toutes les exigences de TSA relatives aux outils multi-fonctions acceptables en cabine. Toutefois, n'oubliez pas qu'en dernier lieu, c'est aux employés de TSA qu'il appartient de décider de ce qui est autorisé ou non à bord. Les exigences réglementaires actuelles se trouvent sur www.tsa.gov. Les autres produits Leatherman peuvent être rangés dans les bagages enregistrés qui voyagent en soute.

ATTENTION : LES DIRECTIVES DE TSA CONCERNANT LES COUTEAUX ONT ÉTÉ MISES À JOUR
Le 5 juin 2013, TSA (l'autorité chargée de la sécurité des transports aux États-Unis ) a annoncé qu'elle avait annulé sa décision d'autoriser les produits Messer en cabine. Pour plus d'informations sur ces modifications, consultez
https://www.tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/prohibited-items.

Les produits Leatherman suivants sont conformes à la réglementation actuelle de TSA pour les articles de cabine :

  • Tread
  • Tread LT
  • Tread Metric
  • Brewzer
  • Piranha 2
  • Style PS
  • Mako Ti
  • Grind
  • Jam
  • Thruster
  • Pump
  • Rail
  • Cam
  • Rime

N'oubliez pas : avant de transporter un produit Leatherman dans un avion ou dans toute autre zone réglementée, reportez-vous, pour votre propre protection, à la politique sur les objets tranchants publiée par l'organisation. Les agents de sécurité, tels que les représentants de TSA, décident en dernier lieu des articles autorisés pour assurer la sécurité de tous les passagers. De plus, les lois internationales peuvent varier. Veuillez également noter que Leatherman n'offre aucune garantie pour les outils perdus, volés ou confisqués.

Nos outils portent le nom du fondateur de la marque, Tim Leatherman, qui est le créateur de l'outil Pocket Survival Tool original, désormais connu sous le nom de PST.

En savoir plus sur l'histoire de Leatherman.

Les normes de qualité, de durabilité, de précision et le souci du détail de Tim Leatherman rendent les outils Leatherman uniques. Depuis l'invention de Tim, nous n'avons eu qu'un seul objectif en tête : fabriquer les meilleurs outils polyvalents au monde.

Découvrez l'histoire de Leatherman.

Nos produits sont vendus dans environ 90 pays du monde. Veuillez consulter la page du localisateur de vendeurs pour trouver nos distributeurs agréés locaux. Ces distributeurs vous aideront à trouver des détaillants dans votre région et/ou si vous avez des problèmes relatifs à la garantie.

Tous les outils Leatherman sont équipés d'un ensemble de fonctionnalités qui en font des outils polyvalents uniques. Nous ne pouvons pas modifier ou remplacer différents composants de lame sur un modèle d'outil par ceux d'un autre modèle.

Bien entendu ! Les avis de nos consommateurs ont joué un rôle important dans l'amélioration de nos produits actuels et dans la conception de nouveaux produits. Notre service marketing prend en compte vos suggestions et vous invite à nous faire part de vos commentaires. N'hésitez donc pas à lui adresser vos idées (en envoyant un message par voie postale ou en écrivant à info@leatherman.com). Si vous souhaitez nous faire part d'une idée pour laquelle vous avez déjà obtenu un brevet ou d'autres droits de propriété intellectuelle, veuillez écrire à l'adresse suivante : Office of the President, Leatherman Tool Group, PO Box 20595, Portland OR 97294. Avant de recevoir ou d'examiner votre idée, nous vous demanderons de signer un accord de confidentialité qui décrira vos droits et les nôtres concernant l'idée dont vous pourriez nous faire part.

Un choix d'étui vous est proposé. Vous les retrouverez sur notre page des accessoires. Veuillez consulter cette section pour savoir comment commander des étuis et d'autres produits Leatherman.

Désolé. Leatherman Tool Group est une entreprise privée et il est très peu probable qu'elle entre en bourse dans un avenir proche.

Vous pouvez déverrouiller les lames avec un autre tournevis ou un outil similaire. Les poignées de l'outil sont fermées et vous insérez maintenant le tournevis dans la fente créée par le ressort de la poignée (c'est là que la poignée s'engage sur les lames de l'outil). Poussez maintenant avec précaution le ressort de la poignée vers le haut jusqu'à ce que le verrou de l'une des lames soit libéré.

L'oxyde noir est un « revêtement de conversion », ce qui signifie qu'il modifie la surface du produit sans la recouvrir, comme le ferait de la peinture. L'oxyde noir est formé par oxydation de la couche externe d'atomes de surface. On pourrait donc parler de « rouille contrôlée ». Lorsque vous commencez à utiliser le produit, la substance noire correspond à cette couche externe. Elle s'estompera dans une certaine mesure, mais c'est normal pour ce type de finition. Pour éviter les taches, utilisez simplement un chiffon et une huile de lubrification CRC 3-36 (ou une huile similaire) et frottez soigneusement les surfaces de l'outil. L'huile va fixer la finition et lui permettra de durer plus longtemps. C'est ce que font les huiles naturelles produites par votre corps lorsque vous manipulez l'outil.

Notre garantie est simple. Vous cassez votre outil, nous le réparons. Veuillez consulter notre page de garantie et suivre les instructions pour envoyer votre produit (N'ENVOYEZ PAS D'ÉTUI).

Si vous vivez en dehors de l'Allemagne ou de l'Autriche, veuillez suivre les instructions de garantie à l'international que vous trouverez également sur la page de garantie. Vous pourrez y sélectionner votre pays et envoyer votre produit à un distributeur Leatherman agréé.

Nos produits sont conçus pour être démontés uniquement par des techniciens formés en usine. Les outils réparés sont réassemblés (et les montants de pivotement fixés) pour garantir une tension adéquate afin que votre outil soit le plus performant possible. Si vous essayez de démonter vous-même un outil Leatherman, vous serez susceptible de perdre des composants et de compromettre la fonctionnalité de l'outil. Il est également possible que votre garantie ne soit plus applicable.

BOUTIQUE DE PERSONNALISATION

Leatherman contrôle les textes et les images importés. Vous devez disposer des droits d'utilisation de vos images importées. Leatherman se réserve le droit de rejeter et d'annuler les commandes personnalisées contenant des phrases, des images ou des contenus vulgaires, offensants ou diffamatoires que nous jugeons inacceptables, y compris, sans toutefois s'y limiter, les éléments suivants :

  • Drogues et alcool
  • Pornographie
  • Violence
  • Texte inapproprié

Si votre design enfreint la politique relative aux produits personnalisés de Leatherman, vous recevrez un e-mail vous informant que votre commande a été rejetée et annulée. Si vous avez des questions sur les raisons pour lesquelles votre commande a été rejetée, veuillez contacter notre équipe du service client.

Bien que les délais de gestion de commandes personnalisées puissent varier en fonction du volume, veuillez prévoir environ 2 à 4 jours supplémentaires pour le traitement. Les délais de livraison peuvent varier en fonction du mode de livraison choisi. Si vous n'avez pas reçu votre commande personnalisée dans les 2 semaines, veuillez contacter le service client.

Veuillez bien vous assurer de la qualité de votre image. Afin d'éviter que l'image ne soit granuleuse ou pixélisée, nous vous recommandons d'utiliser des fichiers d'au moins 1000 pixels de hauteur et/ou de longueur. Évitez les images ayant des couleurs métalliques et fluorescentes, car elles n'apparaîtront pas sur l'impression. Le rendu 3D de votre design correspondra au produit physique et sera le plus fidèle possible ; cependant, en raison des différents écrans et plateformes numériques, les couleurs finales pourront légèrement varier. Types de fichiers image compatibles : PNG, JPG, GIF, SVG, PDF, AI, PSD, et EPS.

Veuillez contacter notre équipe du service client si vous rencontrez des problèmes pour effectuer votre commande personnalisée.

Tous les navigateurs sont différents. Pour vous assurer de profiter au mieux de votre expérience de personnalisation Leatherman, nous vous conseillons d'utiliser la dernière version de votre navigateur. Utilisez le navigateur Google Chrome sur un ordinateur de bureau pour profiter d'une expérience optimale.

Nous vous enverrons un e-mail de confirmation pour vous informer de la réception de votre outil. Nous vous enverrons un e-mail de confirmation d'expédition dès que votre produit aura été expédié.

Les produits personnalisés Leatherman sont conçus spécialement pour vous et ne peuvent être ni repris ni échangés. Vous rencontrez des problèmes en matière de qualité ? Veuillez consulter notre politique de garantie ou contacter notre équipe du service client.

Il se peut que l'image sélectionnée ne soit pas d'assez bonne qualité. Afin d'éviter que l'image ne soit granuleuse ou pixélisée, nous vous recommandons d'utiliser des fichiers d'au moins 1000 pixels de hauteur et/ou de longueur. Types de fichiers image compatibles : PNG, JPG, GIF, SVG, PDF, AI, PSD, et EPS.

Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions

GENERAL

Some Leatherman products are crafted to follow TSA specifications for a carry-on item. Those products are listed below. One of our models - the Style PS - complies with all TSA requirements for a carry-on multifunction tool, but remember that it is ultimately up to TSA workers to decide what they are allowing on board or not. The current regulatory requirements can be found at www.tsa.gov. Other Leatherman products may be stowed in checked luggage that travels in the cargo area.

ATTENTION: UPDATED TSA GUIDELINES KNIVES
On 5 June 2013, the TSA (US Transportation Safety Authority) announced that it had withdrawn its decision to allow Messer to be part of the hand luggage on board. More information about these changes can be found at
https://www.tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/prohibited-items.

The following Leatherman products comply with current TSA regulations for carry-on items:

  • Tread
  • Tread LT
  • Tread Metric
  • Brewzer
  • Piranha 2
  • Style PS
  • Mako Ti
  • Grind
  • Jam
  • Thruster
  • Pump
  • Rail
  • Cam
  • Rime

Please note: Before carrying any Leatherman product on a flight or into any other restricted area, refer to the organization’s published sharp object policy for your own protection. Security agents, such as TSA representatives, have full discretion over allowable items for the safety of all passengers and international laws may vary. Please also note that Leatherman does not warranty tools that are lost, stolen, or confiscated.

Our tools bear the name of our founder Tim Leatherman, who invented the original Pocket Survival Tool, now known as the PST.

Learn more about The Leatherman Story.

Tim Leatherman's standards for quality, durability, precision and attention to detail are what make Leatherman tools like no other. Ever since Tim invented the category, we've focused on just one thing - manufacturing the world's highest quality multipurpose tools.

Read about The Leatherman Story.

Our products are sold in approximately 90 countries around the world. Please refer to the Dealer Locator page to locate our authorized distributors. These distributors can help you find retailers in your area and/or help you with a warranty issue.

Each Leatherman tool consists of a combination of features that makes it a unique multipurpose tool. We cannot alter or substitute different blade components from one tool version to another.

Tim Leatherman's standards for quality, durability, precision and attention to detail are what make Leatherman tools like no other. Ever since Tim invented the category, we've focused on just one thing - manufacturing the world's highest quality multipurpose tools.

Read about the Leatherman Difference.

Always. Consumer feedback has played a significant role in improving our existing products and designing new ones. Our marketing department tracks suggestions and welcomes your feedback, so feel free to address your ideas to them (either in writing or at info@leatherman.com). If you wish to submit an idea for which you already have or may obtain a patent or other ownership rights, please write to the Office of the President, Leatherman Tool Group, PO Box 20595, Portland OR 97294. Prior to receiving or considering your idea, we will present you with a disclosure agreement that describes your rights and ours in any idea you disclose to us.

There are several sheaths to choose from. All are pictured in our Accessories page. Please visit that section for information on how to order sheaths and other Leatherman gear.

Sorry. Leatherman Tool Group is privately held and is very unlikely to go public in the foreseeable future.

Use a separate screwdriver or similar device to unlock the blades. With the handles closed together, insert the screwdriver into the slot created by the handle spring (where the handle locks onto the tool blades). Gently pry up the handle spring until one of the blades can be released.

Black oxide is a "conversion coating", which means it changes the surface of the product, rather than covering the product, as paint would. Black oxide is formed by oxidizing the outer layer of atoms on the surface. In effect, it's controlled rust. When you first use the product, the black substance is this outer layer. It will wear away to some extent, but that's the nature of this finish. To avoid the stains, simply take a rag with CRC 3-36 (or similar oil) and rub the tool surfaces thoroughly. The oil will set the finish and allow it to last longer. This is what your skin oils are actually doing when you handle the tool.

Our warranty is simple. You broke it, we'll fix it. Please visit our Warranty page and follow the instructions to send in your product (NO SHEATH PLEASE).

If you live outside of the United States, please follow the international warranty instructions also located on the Warranty page. There you will select your country and send your product to an authorized Leatherman distributor.

Our products are designed to be disassembled by factory-trained technicians only. Repaired tools are reassembled (and the pivot posts cemented) to ensure proper tension for optimum tool performance. Attempting to disassemble a Leatherman tool yourself may result in lost components and compromised tool functionality. It may also void your warranty protection.

CUSTOM SHOP

Leatherman moderates text and image uploads. You must own the rights to your uploaded images. Leatherman reserves the right to reject and cancel custom orders containing profane, offensive, or libelous phrases, imagery, or content that we deem as objectionable including, but not limited to the following:

  • Drugs and Alcohol
  • Pornography
  • Violence
  • Inappropriate Text

If your design violates the Leatherman custom policy, you will receive an email notification that your order was rejected and canceled. If you have questions about why your order was rejected, please contact our customer service team.

While custom order creation times will vary based on volume, please allow for approximately 2-4 additional days for processing. Delivery may vary based on your chosen shipping method. If you have not received your custom order within 2 weeks, please contact customer service.

Please review your image thoroughly. To prevent the image from being grainy or pixelated, we recommend using files that are at least 1,000 pixels in height and/or length. Avoid imagery with metallic and fluorescent colors as they do not print. The 3D rendering of your design will match the physical product as closely as possible; however, because of different screens and digital platforms, actual colors may have slight deviations. Compatible image file types: PNG, JPG, GIF, SVG, PDF, AI, PSD, and EPS.

Please contact our customer service team if you are experiencing issues with placing your custom order.

Not all browsers are created equal. To ensure you are getting the most out of your Leatherman custom experience, we recommend using the newest version of your browser. Google Chrome on your desktop computer will provide an optimal experience.

Following your order, we will send you a confirmation email that your order has been received. We will send you a shipping confirmation email once your product has been shipped.

Leatherman custom product is built just for you and cannot be returned or exchanged. Having quality issues? Please view our warranty policy or contact our customer service team.

Your selected image may not be a high enough resolution. To prevent the image from being grainy or pixelated, we recommend using files that are at least 1,000 pixels in height and/or length. Compatible image file types: PNG, JPG, GIF, SVG, PDF, AI, PSD, and EPS.

WARRANTY PROGRAM

Our warranty is simple. You broke it, we'll fix it. Please visit our warranty page and follow the instructions to send in your product (NO SHEATH PLEASE).

If you live outside of North America, please follow the international warranty instructions also located on the Warranty page. There you will select your country and send your product to an authorized Leatherman distributor.

If the tool you have needing repair is not on the list of those that apply to this program, you should return it through our traditional warranty return program and we will do our best to repair it and return it to you. If the tool is beyond repair, we will replace it with a model that is equal to it.

Our products are designed to be disassembled by factory-trained technicians only. Repaired tools are reassembled (and the pivot posts cemented) to ensure proper tension for optimum tool performance. Attempting to disassemble a Leatherman tool yourself may result in lost components and compromised tool functionality. It may also void your warranty protection.

No, the program is intended to give you options when your tool breaks because of manufacturing or material defects, it is not an exchange program.

We would happy to repair the tool you have or replace it with another one of the same model if it cannot be repaired but we can’t give more credit on an e-voucher.

Yes, you can spend the credit at Leatherman.com for anything offered on the website, including engraving.

No, in order to get credit on an e-voucher, you must return the tools to our warranty department before e-voucher credit is issued. If a tool has sentimental value and you’d like to keep it, we suggest you send it back using our traditional warranty return process and we will do our best to repair it.

Yes, if you would like to let someone else use all or part of your e-voucher, you give them your e-voucher number and they would use it just as you would at Leatherman.com.

The credit that we issue on e-vouchers are used to offset the expense of fixing your tool and sending back to you. We have already repaired your tool so this program would not apply.

You can send in up to 4 tools on this program. Each one must be listed on the application and they should all be sent back in the same package. Once we receive the package, we will issue ONE e-voucher for the sum total of the value for all the tools returned. If you return more than 4 tools, we will do our best to repair those that are not listed on the e-voucher return form and return them to you.

Shortly after receiving the tools you sent back to our warranty department, you will receive your e-voucher via email to the address you supplied when you filled out the paperwork.

All e-vouchers will be sent through email so if you don’t have one, or don’t want to use your email, you can return your tool back for repair through our traditional warranty return process.

Enter your e-voucher at the billing step of checkout and select "check balance."

No, credit issued under this program is offered through an e-voucher to use at Leatherman.com

Yes, you can use the e-voucher at Leatherman.com for anything you see on the website including to upgrade your shipping.

The e-voucher can be used in the US and be redeemed at Leatheman.com

No, the e-voucher program is intended to replace defective Leatherman tools only.

No, the e-voucher must be redeemed at Leatherman.com.

Yes, multiple e-vouchers can be combined on a single transaction from Leatherman.com.

All tools must be returned to Leatherman’s warranty returns center to qualify for an e-voucher.

Tools must be received at our warranty return center in order to receive an e-voucher. A photo of a broken tool does not qualify.